Ilya Piatetski-Shapiro

Wolf Prize Laureate in Mathematics 1990

The Mathematics Prize committee has unanimously selected the following two candidates to equally share the 1990 Wolf Prize in Mathematics: Ilya Piatetski-Shapiro and Ennio De Giorgi.


Ilya Piatetski-Shapiro
Tel Aviv University
Tel Aviv, Israel


“for his fundamental contributions in the fields of homogeneous complex domains, discrete groups, representation theory and automorphic forms”.


For almost 40 years Professor Ilya Piatetski-Shapiro has been making major contributions in mathematics by solving outstanding open problems and by introducing new ideas in the theory of automorphic functions and its connections with number theory, algebraic geometry and infinite dimensional representations of Lie groups. His work has been a major, often decisive factor in the enormous progress in this theory during the last three decades.


Among his main achievements are: the solution of Salem’s problem about the uniqueness of the expansion of a function into a trigonometric series; the example of a non symmetric homogeneous domain in dimension 4 answering Cartan´s question, and the complete classification (with E. Vinberg and G. Gindikin) of all bounded homogeneous domains; the solution of Torelli´s problem for K-3 surfaces (with I. Shafarevich); a solution of a special case of Selberg´s conjecture on unipotent elements, which paved the way for important advances in the theory of discrete groups, and many important results in the theory of automorphic functions, e.g., the extension of the theory to the general context of semi-simple Lie groups (with I. Gelfand), the general theory of arithmetic groups operating on bounded symmetric domains, the first “converse theorem” for GL(3), the construction of L-functions for automorphic representations for all the classical groups (with S. Rallis) and the proof of the existence of non arithmetic lattices in hyperbolic spaces of arbitrary large dimension (with M. Gromov).